The Drugstore Where Time Stands Still

Over two years ago I made a visit to Hamilton, Ontario, my hometown, and one of things I did while I was there was walk down Barton St., a street that I remember as vibrant from my childhood but that is now all boarded-up stores. This is one of the photos I took that day:

voo

I titled it “Voo” because that’s all I could make out from the sign. But as I discovered the other day when a friend sent me a link to a video on the Hamilton Spectator‘s Web site, it was actually a pharmacy called Littlewood’s, and though it’s been closed for almost fifty years the contents are untouched. Paul Wilson from the paper takes a walk around inside, and the result is fascinating. I totally recommend that you watch the footage:

http://www.thespec.com/videogallery/476949

I so wish I could have gone inside.

This entry was posted in Canada, Hamilton, Nostalgia. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Drugstore Where Time Stands Still

  1. Jo says:

    You theoretically could have gone in… weren’t there any ne’er do wells loitering outside? I’m sure for a roach or a hit off your crackpipe, they could have smashed a window for you.

    Ahem.

  2. alif sikkiin says:

    Heh. Actually, the street was totally deserted. No crackheads, even.

  3. Matt W says:

    a street that I remember as vibrant from my childhood… though it’s been closed for almost fifty years

    You look really good for your age.

    (Welcome back!)

  4. mcmc says:

    You’re back, huzzah! That’s a fantastic place–Cashmere Bouquet, Mantan, all those strange old things. The sparse shelves remind me of the pharmacy on the corner in my old neighborhood that turned out to me a meth store. I went in once because I needed toothpaste and they didn’t have any.

  5. alif sikkiin says:

    I’m so glad you watched it. It’s such a weird place.

    The sparse shelves remind me of the pharmacy on the corner in my old neighborhood that turned out to me a meth store.

    God, that’s funny.

    I took a photo of a drugstore in Cairo with an awesome sign and practically nothing on the shelves. That is to say, I took a photo of the sign, from outside.

Leave a Reply

